And so it begins (again)

19 Sep

An early morning start was little heralded, passing almost unnoticed infact. Rising earlier than planned, having a two course breakfast where none was normally had. Surprising the early taxi driver by being ready for him. Speeding through a deserted city (not unlike I’d like to imagine I could in Grand Theft Auto) to catch a train to start a journey and a fresh adventure.
image

One rather scenic sunrise, as I crossed the Tay rail bridge, later and I was London bound. (After a brief change in Edinburgh).

As usual the journey got interesting at Newcastle with the arrival of a hen party. To be honest I think it was actually a birthday, but equally they could have been going to work.
image

Arrived early at Kings Cross and deposited my bags at the left luggage, leaving time for a spot of lunch in Covent Garden before heading off to the first show of the day – War Horse.
image

Front row seat was slightly intimidating, but with the occasional mechanical horse in the face I certainly got a good view. During the interval they started the get out, removing large chunks from the sides of the stage. Refrained from offering to help. The less I say about the price of the ice creams the better.

£3.50 ?????? Yer having a laugh!
image

Wandering on to the next show, I rekindled memories of Callum Farquhar feeding us strange flavoured jelly beans in Piccadilly Circus (and almost getting arrested for pitching a tent in Hyde Park). Skipped through Chinatown but with the pubs full of rugby supporters, I had to settle for a KFC. Translation skills required already.

image

Chinatown

image

Swiss Court

Arriving early for The Book Of Mormon in the Prince of Wales Theatre, I secured a precious seat in their cinema like bar. Another excellent show, albeit not suitable for anyone young, gay, religious, or African. Maggots in scrotums are not cured by seeing this show.
image

A quick trip the wrong way to pick up my luggage and I headed for Heathrow. Terminal 2 was quite busy for being closed with several people trying to catch some sleep before an early morning check in.

I started a trend by commandeering the rather comfy seats in one of the cafes. Soft but narrow. With an intruder alarm going off every 17 seconds (of course I counted), sleep was hard to come by.

Dozing on and off I hope to be early, if not on time for the 4am check in.

One Response to “And so it begins (again)”

  1. Bob September 20, 2015 at 8:55 am #

    Have a great trip – good start with Book of Morman. look forward to hearing more.

Leave a Reply

